This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

FRANKFORT, Ky. (FOX 56) – Gov. Beshear announced Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (D-SNAP) benefits have been approved for Kentuckians who live or work in the 14 counties impacted by the Dec. 10-11 tornadoes.

Two counties are currently on standby as they wait on being added in the future.

“We really appreciate the extra assistance from the federal government to ensure our Kentucky families who have lost so much are able to have access to healthy food at this time,” Beshear said. “When you’re worried about how to rebuild your home and your life, you shouldn’t have the extra burden of worrying about your next meal.”

Monday, Beshear made an announcement that SNAP beneficiaries affected by the tornadoes can request benefit replacements through a waiver the U.S. Department of Agriculture approved. A second waiver provides replacements to counties hit hardest like Warren and Hickman counties.

Additionally, Beshear announced hot food can be purchased from authorized SNAP retailers.

D-SNAP gives assistance to low-income households with food loss, loss of income, or natural disaster damage like tornadoes. Approved D-SNAP beneficiaries will receive an Electronic Benefit (EBT) card that can be used just like a debit card to buy food at most grocery stores.

Due to unique, dire circumstances, those that may not qualify for SNAP benefits may still qualify for D-SNAP benefits.

If you have experienced any of the following you may qualify for D-SNAP:

  • Home or business repairs
  • Temporary shelter expenses
  • Evacuation or relocation expenses
  • Home or business protection
  • Disaster-related personal injury, including funeral expenses
  • Lost or no access to income due to the disaster, including reduced, terminated or delayed receipt of income, for a large part of the benefit period
  • In come cases, food loss after a disaster like flooding or power outages

Applications may be submitted starting Jan. 5, 2022, for D-SNAP benefits for families and individuals living in Caldwell, Christian, Fulton, Graves, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Taylor, and Warren counties.

For help applying, call the Department for Community Based Services’ call center for D-SNAP at 1-833-371-8570, the fastest method to receive benefits. Applications will be taken by phone from 8 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. EST Monday – Friday, and Saturday, 9 a.m.– 2 p.m. EST.

Applications may also be made at DCBS offices in the eligible counties. For more information, including DCBS office hours, visit Tornado Resources and click on the “Food Assistance” tab.