FRANKFORT, Ky. (FOX 56) – Governments and non-profit organizations in Floyd, Knott, Owsley, and Pike counties are now eligible for federal public assistance grants related to flooding damage.

FEMA has made the aforementioned counties eligible for debris removal and permanent work to repair public facilities damaged by the July flooding. Those counties, along with various other impacted counties were previously approved for federal reimbursement for emergency protective measures.

FEMA also said in a news release: “The major disaster declaration for Kentucky flooding also has been amended to authorize a 100 percent federal cost share for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, for a continuous 30-day period of the Commonwealth’s choosing within the first 120 days for Clay, Floyd, Knott, Martin, Owsley, Perry and Pike counties.”